Anything & Everything

April 25, 2015

The Power Of Flowers

Filed under: Blogging,General Stuff,Musings,Writing — Susan Morgan @ 8:17 am

cb52a9d7ec8a53dd502814d8ba95ea5aI love flowers. My children think I’m silly to love something so temporary. My husband is thrilled I continue to appreciate a readily available gift that works for nearly every occasion. Everyone else dismisses my passion for flowers as impractical fancy.

I learned this love from my mother, an avid (and rather skilled) gardener who taught me to appreciate flowers for the beautiful work of nature that they are.

I can’t name a favorite flower, for I don’t have one. Cut flowers and yellow roses. Happy little pansy faces like these. Flowers only just poking those first hopeful green shoots up from the ground. I love them all. Flowers in displays, at weddings or proms, growing wild along the road. I notice them, appreciate the color, the scent and the visual impact. I feel the lack when they are not there.

I’ve filled a Pinterest board with favorite florals, taken endless photos of the flowers I get as gifts, and can always be counted on to have a plan for buying more, planting more.

Whenever I see any flower, something inside me is happier, lighter and free for just a moment. No matter what type of day I’m having, or mood I’m in, seeing the natural beauty of a flower brings me to a place that’s totally wonderful. I smile in spite of myself. Interesting that a 2005 study out of Rutgers has found that the presence of flowers triggers happy emotions, heightens feelings of life satisfaction and affects social behavior in a positive manner far beyond what is normally believed.

A lot like a great piece of music or amazing work of art might do.

At this time of year, flowers rule. They have been asleep for a long, cold winter and are just as anxious to show their stuff as we are to see it. The choices are amazing, everything is in season or about to be; blooming, scented and fresh — a very real reminder about renewal, starting over. Every one is a welcome sight to my weary eyes, a lift to my battered heart on the rainy days of April.

Flowers are unabashedly alive, beautiful and unique by nature, free to live and bloom and be for a time. They are part of many of life’s rituals, convey messages and share their beauty with us all without restraint or hesitation.

Truly, what’s not to love?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

